Let’s Taco Bout It!

When the taco craving hits you must act accordingly, even on a Wednesday! 

Last night I made quick and very easy tacos.  From start to finish it literally only takes about 30 min and the best part no prepackaged taco mix WOOT!  Tacos are one of my favorite dishes, its like that super informed friend— you know the one that seems to know everyone’s dirty laundry and you just can’t get enough of all the tea she spills.  And when she calls, you try so hard to resist temptation, because you know if you answer you will hear something you probably shouldn’t know and then you have to walk around doing your best to not spill the beans on the good gossip you just got BUT you just let it happen- no matter how bad it is for you. 


Now let’s get to it!

First, I used 3 thinly sliced chicken breasts and seasoned them with garlic salt, black pepper, cilantro leaves, and minced garlic.  No pinches of salt here and there, show that bird how much you love it and give it a few extra sprinkles of tasty goodness.  Go on, don’t be scared.  Just remember seasoning is a good thing!

img_8321

I then added the breast fillets to a preheated pan (make sure to oil your pan well, I used extra virgin olive oil).  Since the chicken is thinly sliced it should only take about 5-8 mins on each side.  But feel free to cook to your liking. 

img_8323

While my chicken was getting nice and juicy for me I chopped the toppings.  To keep it simple and taking full advantage of what I had in the kitchen, I used a jalapeño, sweet onion, avocado and lime.  After you’re done being a fruit ninja, set the cutting board aside and get back to that chicken!   It should be juusssst about done.

img_8330

 Ahh look at that chicken, nice and golden…yum.

img_8325

 I let the chicken rest for a few minutes before jumping to the next step.  By doing this you allow the juices to re-enter the meat and the flavor settle.

img_8327

Next, I cut the chicken to my preferred size and added it to a mixing bowl.  Now for the magic, I squeezed lime juice from the lime I cut earlier (pictured above) generously over the chicken and lightly seasoned with cumin, chili powder, oregano, and a dash of cayenne pepper.  Then I tossed the chicken in the bowl to ensure all the pieces felt the love. 

img_8332

Now you are ready to garnish and eat!  I used corn tortillas for my tacos, feel free to use your favorite tortilla – corn or flour you really can’t go wrong.  I did simple toppings and included a little salsa and a dollop of sour cream. You can always add a sprinkle of fresh cilantro to make this dish look and taste super official!

img_8333

In about 30 min you have tasty tacos – quick and easy!  This recipe easily served 2 people and yielded about 6-7 tacos.  Next time I will have to share my homemade guacamole and salsa recipes.  Bon Appétit!

thecreativecrystalsig

Leave a Reply

Write before you speak

From a Home Maker | Writer | Reader | Cook |

Amongst All Else

Poetry - Life - Stories

Master of wings

"Skilled practitioner of a particular art"

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

Words on Empty Ears

Understanding someone’s way with words isn’t as simple as you think.

Giggles & Tales

A Potpourri of my Ramblings, Poems and More…

My Journey

A lifelong Experiences

Neverland

'To live would be an awfully big adventure'

Words can't fathom

Exploring all perspectives in a blogosphere! :)

CynicalSouls

Lose yourself in the lines

Cmoas

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Write Lightning Poetry

Sebastian Gerard

writestuffny

reading, writing, reflecting...

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Diary of an Aesthete

A Spiritual and Artistic Pilgrimage Around the Globe

Chriss Zoë Blogs

everything about me wrapped up in one place

F O L K B I R D · c o

be fruitful. live free.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

